Blog #4

The pattern I read for this week was “Nurture Your Passion”. It was about how to keep your passion for software craftsmanship, while also letting it grow at the same time. It lists many ways to grow your passion from working on what you like to seeking out kindred spirits. I really enjoyed reading this pattern because passion for your job is something we all seek our entire lives. I went through all the pain and struggles all the way through college for a chance to get a job I am passionate about. Once you get the job though, you need to be able to keep that passion for your entire life, and even grow it into something more.

This pattern taught me many different ways to grow my passion for software craftsmanship. My favorite was studying the classics as I hadn’t really thought about it. That allowed me to change the way I think, and I am thinking about reading some books made by software developers of the past to learn from their passions. The way to a brighter future is by studying the past, so I should use the words of past software developers to help myself and improve myself. I thought the tip about seeking out kindred spirits is great too. You should try to find different people with similar passions as you, so you both can help each other grow, and keep what you are doing from getting boring. The more people that can help you grow your passions and help you learn, the better off you will be.

There was nothing that I particularly disagreed with in this pattern. I thought it did a good job giving different ways to grow your passions, and great reasons why it is important to do. Without growing your passions, it will soon leave you unpassionate, and lead to a decrease in your work. Passion that is ever growing for what you are going to be spending the rest of your life doing is extremely important, and it is necessary to have. I think everyone should read this pattern because it can be applied to everything, not just software craftsmanship.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started